CV Drops (part 2)

Following on from my last blog post about CV drops from 24 July 2017, I have noticed some employers do not mind accepting CV’s, but other dislike it.

I know times do change, but I have found that doing CV Drops work better for me. It will work for some, but not others. It is down to research and perseverance.
With what I have read, I will say my views and try to explain my reasons.

The first, third and forth pictures / screenshots are from Chron.

Chron

Most of the time, it is beneficial to do CV Drops, as you are (most of the time) able to meet the correct contact. It does depend on how much research you have done on the company. Some questions you should ask yourself and research:

✏ Do they accept CV’s?

✏ Who deals with the recruitment in the company?

✏ Do they work in your local or desired store, warehouse, etc.?

I always ask to speak to the person I put on my cover letter. Most of the time, the person does meet and speak to me. If the correct person is unavailable to meet me, I give my CV to the receptionist, or whoever is available. I ask them for proof that I turned up by filling out a basic form I created myself. This is what it looks like:

I ask for this to be filled in by the person I handed my CV to, and I will produce this information to the Job Centre Plus at my next appointment.

Sometimes, the intended recipient, the named recruiter, does not receive my CV and cover letter. I only find out when I follow up by giving the recruiter a call about 3 working days later. This is a disadvantage for any jobseeker and can be very frustrating, as personal information had been mislaid.

Chron

Now, sometimes I get asked to send a CV via e-mail, which is very rarely. I do not mind doing this, as it generally goes straight to the recruiter I researched.

Chron

Most, if not all employers, will state what the application method is on the job description (online and hard copy).

Personally, if I was a recruiter, I would expect them to visit, as it shows not only willingness, but they can also show how good they are at communicating. Communication is key in every company.

This reply on a thread I found was interesting to see because it does not only work with just retail and entry level positions.

When I was actively seeking new employment before I started working for Tesco, I completed a CV Drop and secured three interviews within the same week. All of these interviews were within warehouse environments. One of these was an apprenticeship, so entry level jobs do come into it sometimes.

I disagree that when somebody has done the research, then visited you to hand over their CV, but you do not see them. To me, it is impolite, very rude and the person who deals with the recruitment has wasted somebody else’s time. I would never work for a company that has employees like that.

On a CV, a recruiter can see what experience, skills and education somebody has, but they may not have met the applicant personally, until the interview. They are judging the book by its cover. They would need to at least read the introduction of a book (accepting CV’s in person) before starting Chapter One (the job interview).

http://www.askamanager.org/2009/06/dropping-off-your-resume-in-person.html

CV Drops work better for some, but will not work for others. It is trial and error. But once again, it is not only entry level jobs (or an interview for entry level jobs) that could come from this.
Even if somebody gets an interview, but does not get tthe job, they can ask for feedback (both positive and constructive).

 
E-mailing CV’s / resumes and applying online “can sometimes pay off” is correct because it is unlikely it will pay off immediately.

Conclusion

I respect that each company are different in the way they receive applications, which is why I do research on the companies before I do any CV Drop.

If a particular person who deals with recruitment works in my local area (Crawley or Manor Royal), I understand that they are busy, but I would respect them much more if they did come and meet me, as I have made the effort to not only do the relevant research, but to visit them in person too.

Completing CV Drops is a form of networking, and even if the company does accept CV’s, but have no current vacancies, they do sometimes give suggestions to other visit other companies.

Leave a Reply

