Posted in Crawley

Question of the Day: 15/01/19

Christina‘s Question of the Day for 15 January 2019 is:

Have you ever had to change your business model because people weren’t buying? If so, in what changes did you make?

I don’t have a business, but from this perspective, I have not needed to change my business model.

However, from the perspective of my hobby, postage stamps, I did have to make some changes when it came to selling and exchanging my unwanted postage stamps.

I tried to sell more of my unwanted postage stamps on my Facebook account rather than in groups or exchange them for postage stamps I required for my postage stamp collection.

Even with pictures / scans of the postage stamps on each post, hardly anybody wanted to buy them. So, I joined a few groups to see how other philatelists did it and the majority of them exchanged postage stamps within the groups.

From that, ,I had to re-sort my unwanted postage stamps, the I used two different techniques to get exchanges to see which worked better:

Exchange postage stamps into packs of 50 or 100 random postage stamps for blind exchanges.

Tidily place my unwanted postage stamps into pages, showing the postage stamps and letting other philatelists choose the postage stamps they required and choosing the postage stamps that I required from their unwanted postage stamps.

Conclusion

We work in different ways but I initially I wasted my time sorting my postage stamps out before the change came into play, which was frustrating.

After the change,I had several (if not hundreds) of successful exchanges, eventhough I did not always receive the postage stamps that I required for my collection(s), I helped other philatelists with their postage stamp collection needs.

The satisfaction!!!

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

2 thoughts on “Question of the Day: 15/01/19

Leave a comment