Posted in Crawley

Analytical Thinking: Unemployment

I was looking job a job for the last 2 and a half years now and I had been struggling to find a suitable job. Finding jobs that were suitable was a problem for somebody like me as I had very few paid jobs.

I had to find a job, get an interview and get into work as soon as possible.

I needed to find somebody to help me go through interview techniques. I needed this help because if I was not able to do so, I would not be able to look for suitable jobs, receive interviews nor get a job at the end of it. So I went to the Alternative Learning Community and I managed to get a voluntary position with them, which they offered and I accepted to get some work experience. Some time later, somebody else joined as a volunteer, who was able to help me with the interview techniques. He has helped me quite a lot by going through many different things in an order, such as:

  •  Key Competencies
  • Interview questions
  • Steps to find a job
  • Recruitment agencies

He was going to teach me these things in this order because if I did not have the Key Competencies, then I would not be able to complete the interview questions and then in turn the steps to finding a job. I found it very interesting because there was quite a large amount of information I did not understand or even know. So we had a meeting and he went through everything that needed to be completed before I was able to receive any interviews. I knew that I had to do practical learning, so I took detailed professional notes in the order that he was going to teach me. He got me to do all of this work professionally and in great detail, which was a challenge and I was excited about it. I found out that there were 13 Key Competencies, which I had to do at least a page for each one. There were many different interview questions that I had to answer and memorise, so I know what I need to say at an interview.

As a result, here I am having an interview with you company, which I am really happy about.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment