Posted in Job Searching, LinkedIn, Networking, Social Media

Q&A session with Darrel Griffin

Darrell Griffin deals with LinkedIn training for small businesses, coaches and consultants.

I have had the opportunity to ask him a few very important questions in regards to LinkedIn. But how should we update our LinkedIn profiles? Let’s find out.

You can connect or follow him on LinkedIn.

What is LinkedIn?

I guess it depends who you ask, Jamie! LinkedIn calls itself ‘the world’s largest professional network’. Me? I call it ‘digital for networking’ – a 24/7 networking opportunity. Yes, there are other aspects to it – it’s a multi-faceted tool – but fundamentally I believe LinkedIn works most effectively when we approach it with a networking mindset.

I am a job seeker, what can LinkedIn do for me?

I don’t typically work with job seekers, Jamie, so I’m probably not the best person to answer this question. However, I will say that showcasing one’s talent and building a great network is important to every professional, job seeker or otherwise, and LinkedIn is the ideal platform on which to showcase one’s talent and build a great network. But LinkedIn is only a tool. How effectively one uses it will determine how effectively the tool works.

How frequently should I update my LinkedIn Profile?

I say this to my clients: Your LinkedIn Profile is the digital representation of the professional you. It’s increasingly the first (and sometimes the only) reference point for a potential employer or a potential client. My argument is that your LinkedIn Profile should be so good that you could hypothetically send it to an interview / client meeting if for whatever reason you were unable to attend yourself. So in answer to your question: Update it as often as necessary, and glance over it once a month to ensure it still presents you in the best possible light.

Okay, I’d like to set up LinkedIn, how do I go about this?

The basic set up process for LinkedIn is fairly straightforward – just follow the prompts. But once you’re ‘on’, I’d recommend focusing on getting your positioning right (as I’ve already said, your LinkedIn Profile is the digital representation of the professional you – please don’t settle for a
so-so LinkedIn Profile when it could detrimentally affect your career / business) and building a great network (quality of connection over quantity of connections). In addition, the sharing of content that adds value to one’s network is never a bad idea. Finally, engaging with others’ content is a great way to start conversations, build rapport, and conceive business relationships
that, over time, could lead to door-opening opportunities.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment