Posted in Communication skills, Companies, Company Hunt, Crawley, Flexibility, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Loader, Manor Royal, Networking, Note taking, Organisational, Personal Shopper, Picker / Pacmer, Recruitment Agencies, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Subway, Target oriented, Vacancies, Warehouse Worker

I Completed a Company Hunt in Manor Royal and Here’s What Happened

Why did you complete a Company Hunt in Manor Royal?

I completed a Company Hunt on foot on Wednesday 21 August 2019 to see what vacancies were available, and to continue to do Manor Royal. Another part of Manor Royal at least.

Where did you visit?

I visited 4 roads, including (in order):

  • Gatwick Road
  • Rutherford Way
  • Gatwick Distribution Centre, Whittle Way
  • Gatwick International Distribution Centre, Cobham Way

What companies did you visit? What was discussed? How would you apply for any vacancies?

In total, there were 26 companies I visited on Wednesday 21 August 2019, which include:

  • Andrew Page – One vacancy available, but I would have to apply for the vacancy on Indeed, as my CV’s from my CV Drops before are now void.
  • Anise Catering – E-mail address received for me to send my CV. The gentleman also suggested I contacted two recruitment agencies (Berry and The Best Connection.
  • BEW – They had no vacancies available.
  • Bryson – They had no vacancies available, and have had to make cuts. I have met this gentleman twice before. He kindly let me have a high vis vest and a can of energy drink.
  • Builders Beams – They had no vacancies available, but requested my name and contact details. I passed him my business card for future reference.
  • Charlies Deli – They have coffee shop vacancies available. CV’s are accepted both in person and via e-mail.
  • Co-Ordination Catering Equipment Hire – They had no vacancies available.
  • DFS – They only require Drivers currently and would be available on their website.
  • Gatwick Pop Inn Cafe – The Manager was not in today, but the lady asked me for my contact details to pass onto the Manager when he is back. I passed her my business card.
  • George Boyd – They had no vacancies available.
  • Greenham – They had no vacancies available.
  • House of Beauty – They had no vacancies available.
  • Intercleanse – There is a possibility of vacancies, and the lady asked me to fill out a short form, which I duly did. I also put on the form a request to e-mail me any vacancies that come up.
  • Italian Pizza – They were closed when I got to them, but I will visit them again on another day, when they are open.
  • Komfort – They had no vacancies available.
  • Lakers Windows and Doors – They had no vacancies available.
  • Mac’s Barbers – They had no vacancies available.
  • P&H Motor Cycles – They had no vacancies available, but I was informed to keep an eye on their website.
  • Rexel – They had no vacancies available.
  • SC Parts Group Ltd – The gentleman gave me a business card with an e-mail address on, so I could send my CV across for future reference.
  • SL Restoration – They had no vacancies available.
  • Speedy – The lady suggested that I call Anthony from HR on a telephone number that she read out to me.
  • Stainger Glass – They had no vacancies available.
  • Subway – They had no vacancies available, and the Manager is unlikely to accept CV’s at present.
  • SVC Labs – They accept CV’s in person, but I have received an e-mail address to send my CV to.
  • Tile Giant – The Assistant Manager mentioned that they had no vacancies available, but I could visit the Manager tomorrow (Thursday 22 August 2019)
  • Topps Tiles  – There is one vacancy in Crawley, as well as some in Redhill and Uckfield. The Assistant Manager let me know that the only way to apply for any of the vacancies would be on their website.

How do you think it went?

It wasn’t bad at all … no rude people at all today, and were very helpful.

What will you do now?

I am hoping that I will have time on Thursday 22 August 2019 to send the e-mails, attaching my CV and a Cover Letter.

I know I am completing another Company Hunt today (Wednesday 21 August 2019) and am probably in the middle of completing it right now, or planning the blog for it for tomorrow at 09:00. So watch this space!

With thanks …

I would like to thank everybody who spoke to me yesterday. I really do appreciate yourselves taking the time to discuss vacancies with me and for those who recommended other companies.

I would also like to thank the Manager of Bryson who gave me the high vis and the can of energy drink.

Conclusion

This Company Hunt took approximately THREE AND A HALF HOURS to complete, but it didn’t hurt as much as it did for yesterday’s Company Hunt. It was still well worth it.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment