Posted in Crawley

I Completed a Company Hunt in Horsham, and Here’s What Happened (Part 2)

This blog post is a continuation of Part 1.

What will you do next, and when?

Over the next few days, I will evaluate the information I received and look on the career pages that I was informed about. I will send CV’s via e-mail, accompanied with a cover letter with a CV to those companies who asked me for a CV and kindly gave me the correct e-mail addresses to send to.

How do you think it went?

I feel that it went extremely well and was surprised on how many companies I visited in Horsham in one day.. I attended 103 companies. My dead back was a dead back of satisfaction.

With Thanks …

First and foremost, I would like to thank every amazing person I spoke to when I visited the 103 companies on Thursday 05 September 2019.

I would also like to thank those people in Horsham for supporting me and wishing me good luck. All of that kept me strong and kept me going.

Last, but most certainly not least, I would like to thank my local Job Centre Plus for giving me the 5% off train card, where I get 50% off all train journeys.

Misc. Information

When I visited one of the companies on East Street (on the second side), I noticed that the lady had several tattoos, including a couple of roses. We spoke about tattoos. Personally, I won’t get tattoos, even though some of them have meanings (birth dates, death dates, names, etc.) and some are just beautiful, like roses. We both agreed it’s down to personal preferences.

Before I met my relative for lunch at Weatherspoons, I had to ask for directions on West Street (nearest to Middle Street) and the lady I spoke to didn’t know Horsham, as she worked for a deliver company in London that delivers flowers. She was Irish, from Belfast. She wished me luck for my job search, which I appreciated, and she gave me a big hug … SHOCK HORROR and UNEXPECTED.

Statistics

Out of the 103 companies, there were:

  • 33 companies who had no vacancies
  • 26 companies who suggested I went online, on their careers pages
  • 21 companies who accepts CV’s via e-mail
  • 7 companies provided no response
  • 3 companies who require CV’s in person
  • 3 of my business cards were given out
  • 3 companies were busy
  • 2 companies would accept CV’s via post
  • 2 companies said about visiting job boards
  • 2 companies are to close down
  • 1 company requires an application form
  • 1 told me to go to their Head Office.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment