Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Communication: Education (College)

This blog post is a re-post of Communication: Education (College) from Friday 01 December 2017 at 13:00.


I was studying BTEC Business Studies at Central Sussex College and at the beginning of the first term, my class got told to work in groups of 4 or 5 and to think of a product to sell and promote it.

I had a meeting with the group, where the group and myself were brainstorming and coming up with creative ideas, plan and agenda. We listened carefully to each other and clarified issues when others identified key issues. In the meeting a few things that arose and were discussed:

  • Got to know each other better
  • Ideas of products to produce and promote and agreed which one to go for
  • Agreed on what sort of product to produce and promote- the pen was decided
  • Agreed the steps and individual tasks to be completed
  • Agreed on timescales for tasks to be completed for deadlines
  • Found out what each member is capable of doing

Some of the creative ideas were:

  • Chocolate fireguard
  • An application where you talk and it automatically types what you say
  • A multi-coloured pen with different smells for each colour.

I spoke to somebody who had created something before, who promoted their product and took important, professional notes about the good things and the bad things about what happened to him and the product.

When I had done this, I had a meeting with the team I am working with to discuss what I did and listened carefully to all of the comments they threw back at me and fitted it into our plan. A week later, I had meeting with the group about everything, including the tasks that we completed individually and what tasks we needed to do. At this meeting, I listened carefully to the other members and clarified issues when they identified key issues.

I praised and supported their ideas and suggestions and I encouraged the rest of the group to go for the multi-coloured pen with different smells for each colour and they agreed. The function and design were designed. I contacted a couple of production companies for prices, how much to sell for and the quality and I received feedback, good and bad from the companies and I discussed this with the group.

I met deadlines and encouraged the other team members to do the same. There was excellent feedback from the teacher, who noticed there was great team spirit between the team I was in. I helped achieve this result by helping to organise and great preparation of this task that was required of me. I praised the other team members. My team and I were really happy with the feedback from the teacher.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment