Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Communication Skills: Hobbies (Postage Stamps)

This blog post is a re-post of Communication Skills: Hobbies (Postage Stamps) from Thursday 23 November 2017 at 10:00.


I required specific stamps for my stamp collections and to reach targets I set.

To be able to do this, I needed to find and retrieve the stamps I required. I needed to contact other stamp collectors and various charities.

I visited various charities regularly to enquire if they had any stamps for sale, and I had contacts online who were stamp collectors. I communicated and liaised with the collectors to see what stamps they had for exchange, and let them know what stamps I had for exchange. Sometimes it was different to communicate because of the language barrier. I resolved this by using an online translator. I handled feedback from other collectors and responded to their questions and queries. Not only did I support them in these ways, I also supported them by sharing my experiences and guiding them to the best of my abilities. I did all of this in a friendly and professional manner.

As a result many more collectors decided to exchange stamps with me and each exchange gave the other collectors and myself stamps that we required for a collections and helped my targets to be reached

Skills used

  • Communication skills (verbal and written)
  • Target orientated
  • Initiative
  • Note taking
  • Supporting others

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment