Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Targets: Hobbies (Postage Stamps)

This blog post is a re-post of Target: Hobbies (Postage Stamps) from Monday 26 June 2018 at 12:00.


I needed to set targets to assist me with completing my stamp collections. I have loads of stamps and did not know what sort of collections I wanted to collect.

I need to think what stamp collections to collect and set a target for it.

In late 2009, more than 7 years after I started collecting postage stamps, I went through the stands I accumulated over the years and enjoyed looking the Christmas stamps of Great Britain. I organise these Christmas stamps and calculated how many I had and which ones are required. I worked out that I had about 5% of them between 1971 and 2009. So I set a target for a New Year’s resolution:

Start Date: January 2010
Target Date: December 2010
Task: To collect at least 60% of all used basic Great Britain Christmas stamps 1971 to 2010

I collaborated and compiled these postage stamps into stockbooks.

I completed the target within a few months to spare. By the end of September, I had reached the 60% target. But I was not going to stop there. I continued collect these stamps, whilst broadening my collection and thinking of my next target. I completed this target before the deadline.

Further targets

Start Date: January 2011
Target Date: December 2016
Task: At least 50% of all used basic Great Britain stamps 1971 to to 2016 (excluding Definitive stamps)
Accomplished: Yes. November 2016: 55%

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment