Posted in Crawley

A-One:06/12/19

I got to work at approximately 00:55 with four other colleagues.

Apparently there would be one trailer on Sunday and one trailer on Monday, by what the Shift Manager said.

I scanned and sorted the Returns (O.F.D, Print Label, etc.), then scanned and sorted the parcels and packages from the first trailer.

Another lot of parcels and packages from another trailer was scanned and sorted by approximately 04:10, so I changed two full cages and replaced them with empty cages.

I had a quick smoke, then I asked the Shift Manager if he needed a hand, to which, he politely declined.

We completed the sort of the third trailer by approximately 05:20. Two trailers were remaining and one of them is apparently delayed on the motorways/

I had a quick smoke and Marks & Spencer and Asos arrived, which was completed very quickly, followed closely by the forth trailer, then the fifth trailer.

I partly helped one of the drivers load his flier, but there wasn’t much outside of the flier.

I physically finished at approximately 08:55.

During the latter part of the shift, one of the Drivers had this bright idea to block my work space when I was still sorting parcels and packages. He brought an empty cage to the end of the belt, then took out the parcels and packages from the CR3 6 cage (my middle cage), which was about half full, and put it into the empty cage, making it a full cage. I asked him not to be in my way, as I was still sorting parcels and packages. He just continued  filling up the empty cage. In the end, I had to have a word with the Shift Manager, who noticed that I was stressing out. He told the Driver that if he wanted to sort the parcels and packages in the cage, he has to swap the cage with an empty cage, so I could continue with my work. I had to scan and pile the parcels and packages on the end of the belt into correct postcodes, so I could take several parcels and packages into the correct cages by postcode.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment