Posted in Crawley

A-One: 18/12/19

I arrived with four of my colleagues at just before 00:55 and had a quick meeting. we found out the results of the competition that we had the other day. There were two Depots involved, outs at Gatwick and one other Depot, who is supposed to be better than us. The competition was to scan all of the parcels and packages in the quickest time. We had 40-something percent, whilst the other Depot had 20-something percent. Currently, we are winning 5 to 1. Out of 16 depots, we are fifth place, but there is a possibility of getting up to forth. The top three is out of our reach for the moment.

I scanned and sorted the parcels and packages for my end of the belt from Returns and the first three trailers. I changed several full cages with empty ones. The third trailer was completed by lunch at just before 05:05.

Asos and Marks & Spencer arrives just after 05:30. I took half a tub of Asos to the belt with a pump truck, before I scanned and sorted the parcels and packages from Asos into piles of the same postcodes for my normal area of the belt.

The last two trailers were scanned and sorted pretty quickly.

After the sort was successfully completed, I took in a few empty cages from the yard to the correct locations in the warehouse. A colleague brought in many more empty cages, whilst I put them into the correct locations.

I then helped a Driver load his flier.

I bought a burger from Dolphin burger van for £4.00 and ate it before I left work at just after 09:30.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment