Posted in Crawley

Decision Making: Tesco

I was part time at Tesco, but without a chance of going full time. I was eager to complete overtime to gain more experience.

I needed to decide whether or not to complete overtime and, if I did, when I should complete it.

I asked my department Team Leaders and Managers if there were ant overtime opportunities within the Tesco Fulfillment Centre that I was working at. They said that there were overtime opportunities for picking. I asked about other departments and they said that I would have to go to other department Managers to enquire about overtime opportunities with them. For the picking department, I booked some overtime for the shifts I was not doing, which I knew would not conflict with the shifts I was already doing. I went to a couple of other departments to find out who the Management was before I enquired about overtime. They informed me of overtime opportunities verbally  or directed me to the list of overtime shifts that were available. I listened and read the hours I could do, so it would not conflict wit my core hours and put my name forward for the overtime I could do.

I completed over 50 hours of overtime over 17 months in Picking, Replenishment and Loading Departments, where I worked in different teams to hit the relevant targets.

Skills Used

  • Decision Making
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Being Well Informed
  • Communication
  • Flexibility
  • Initiative
  • Organisational
  • Results and Target Orientated
  • Teamwork

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment