Posted in County Mall, Crawley, Customer Service, CV Drops, Job Roles, Job Searching, Superdrug, The Martlets, Vacancies

Company Hunt, Crawley 22/08/17

Aim: To gather companies to research as part of my job search.

What did you do on Tuesday? Why?

I visited the Job Centre Plus for my appointment, and my advisor suggested that I went around Crawley town centre to find out what companies are around and what companies have vacancies.

I needed to do this, not only to help me for my research and future CV Drops for my job search, but to help other job seekers find suitable work through the Job Centre Plus.

Where in Crawley Town Centre did you visit?

Who is the list (over four pages) of companies I went past:

p1: 22 vacancies found from 20 different companies
p2: 33 companies to research
p3: Another 32 companies to research
p4: Another 30 companies to research

The route I took was:

✓ County Mall (both floors)
✓ The Martlets
✓ Queensway
✓ The Broadway
✓ High Street

How did you plan for the company hunt?

I did not plan that company hunting in advance. It was short notice because my Job Centre Plus advisor suggested it, as I mentioned earlier.

What have you planned to do next after the company hunt?

After the company in vacancy hunt, I planned contact my Job Centre Plus advisor with the details of the vacancies that were advertised, then research the companies I wrote down. My research will include:

✎ What does the company do?
✎ Do they have any current vacancies?
✎ What is there a current process for? Would potentially employees be able to hand in a CV accompanied with a cover letter, speculatively?
✎ Who deals with the recruitment side of things?

What next?

I will be:

✎ Letting my Job Centre Plus advisor know of the vacancies I found
✎ Finding out what companies have vacancies and how to apply for them
✎ Researching each company for a name of their recruitment team
✎ Writing a blog post on the research I do
✎ Handwriting cover letter to the companies I would like to work for
✎ Completing a CV Drop
✎ Writing a blog post about the CV Drop

© Jamie Bennett 2017

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

26 thoughts on “Company Hunt, Crawley 22/08/17

Leave a comment