Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Organisational, Replenishment, Sainsbury's, Seasonal Staff, Teamwork, Warehouse Worker

Day 1: Temporary Christmas Merchandising Job (17/12/17)

Where is this position based?

This position was based at Sainsbury’s in West Green, Crawley, just off the A23.

Who did you meet on your first ever night shift?

I met many amazing staff from Sainsbury’s and MSS.

Six members of staff from MSS were doing the same temporary position that I was doing.

What were you doing on your shift?

I was merchandising stock from cages and pallets onto the correct shelving, which include alcohol and Free From.

How do you think it went? Why?

I am not going to lie, but it was a major challenge for me as it was my first shift working nights, which I have not done before.

It definitely killed me, but wanted to do much, much more.

When will your next shift be?

My next shift will be tonight at 8pm for another 11 hours.

What skills do you think you used?

communicated with the store manager and other Sainsbury’s staff to see which aisle(s) they wanted to place me.

I feel I used a methodical approach to this position, as I placed each product at the bottom (on the floor) of where they needed to be placed on the shelves.

Then I opened and stacked the products into the correct places on the shelves quickly, abiding to Health and Safety and making sure there were no gaps, using my keen eye for detail.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment