Posted in Crawley, Initiative, Key Competencies, Manor Royal, Organisational, Problem Solving, Skills, Warehouse Worker

Initiative: Streetwise

At the end of every shift, the printed, laminated postcodes were either piled up on top of the wooden filing system  or scattered across the warehouse, which I absolutely hated seeing.

I needed to organise the printed, laminated postcodes into a good order in the wooden filing system.

I walked around the warehouse, collecting the printed, laminated postcodes from the warehouse floor, yard floor and empty cages. I went to the wooden filing system and made sure I had space and a bin, then I peeled off the sticky labels that kept them on the cages and placed the sticky labels into the bin as I went. I then put the printed, laminated postcodes into a good order before placing them into the wooden filing system.

Not only was the warehouse tidier afterwards, but that was one less Health and Safety issue / hazard  (slipping) dealt with and the printed, laminated postcodes were ready for the afternoon shift to take what they needed.

Skills Used

  • Initiative
  • Organisational
  • Problem Solving
  • Health and Safety Awareness
  • Housekeeping

 

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment