Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Loader, Organisational, Picker / Pacmer, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Target oriented, Teamwork, Warehouse Worker

Streetwise: Tuesday 04 December 2018

I was the first colleague to work again, like I was yesterday but I was much more tired than normal as I only had 3 hours 15 minutes sleep the night before after an appointment the evening before.

I sorted the parcels and packages on the non-functional conveyor belt from the afternoon shift the day before.

The first trailer arrived and I started filling up the conveyor belt but a colleague asked me if I could go onto the belt to sort the parcels and packages whilst another colleague put the parcels and packages onto the belt because I was too slow. “That hurt” I replied, with a smile on my face and we had a laugh about it.

So, I went onto the belt to sort the parcels and packages from the first double-decker trailer, where I read and picked up the parcels and packages for my side of the conveyor belt, walked to the correct cages and carefully placed them into those correct cages.

Then I had one and a half smokes whilst waiting for and unclipping the second double-decker trailer.

I went back into the warehouse to sort the parcels and packages from the second trailer and dealt with Client Returns into a separate cage.

I then used my initiative and started setting up the warehouse for the afternoon shift, where I used a pump truck to transport empty cages to the correct locations within the warehouse. Then the manager told me to go home, so I got myself ready and left 08:13.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment