Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] I Completed a Company Hunt and Here’s What Happened!

This is a re-post of I Completed a Company Hunt and Here’s What Happened!, which was originally published on Tuesday 06 August 2019 at 17:00.


Why did you complete Company Hunts on Thursday 01 August 2019 and Friday 02 August 2019?

I decided to initially complete a Company Hunt on Thursday 01 August 2019. However, disruptions caused disruptions, as they do, and my momentum was ruined.

I decided to continue the Company Hunt on Friday 02 August 2019, where I had no interruptions whatsoever.

How did you complete the Company Hunts?

I completed the Company Hunts via telephone, which I absolutely hate doing.

What companies did you talk to?

Here is the list of the companies I called:

  • Aerotron Limited
  • Avensys Retail
  • Brandon Tool Hire
  • Brymec Gatwick
  • Concord Couriers Ltd
  • Creative Technology
  • DPD UK
  • Gatwick Couriers Ltd
  • Harwoods Group
  • Lewis Day Transport
  • Lok’nStore Crawley
  • Panasonic Store Crawley
  • TTX Couriers
  • Viscose Closures Ltd

What was discussed?

For those companies I was able to get through to , I explained that I was an active job seeker and asked if those respective companies had any vacancies.

With one of the companies, they asked about my warehouse experience, which I duly explained backwards, like what we do on CV’s.

How do you need to apply for the companies you spoke to?

Out of the 14 companies I called, there were mixed responses. They included:

  • 3 unrecognised numbers
  • 4 CV’s via e-mail (2 of which were the same)
  • 2 to receive a call back from
  • 2 respective websites
  • 3 no responses (voicemail, auto hung up, etc.)

Conclusion

All in all, with the annoying disruptions on Thursday 01 August 2019, it was a pleasant experience and the turn out was much better than expected.

I actually enjoyed it!

Everybody I spoke to were very polite and helpful.

What next?

I initially decided to start off my weekend by sending my updated CV to 4 of the companies (3 e-mail addresses) from those Company Hunts. This would have been followed by looking into and research on the 2 respective websites that the 2 companies asked me to do.

Unfortunately, I became ill with a bug that both my brother and mother got before I did.

I will be going through everything I have mentioned above over the next few days (hopefully)

With thanks

I would like to thank every employee I spoke to over both days of this Company Hunt. I really appreciate the help you have given me.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment