Posted in Crawley

Being Well Informed: Networking

I needed to extend my job search as I was running out of ideas on how to actively seek new employment opportunities. A networking event called Purple Networking popped up. So, I initially attended Purple Networking as part of my job search, to ask around about potential vacancies.

I needed to decide if I should attend Purple Networking and to communicate with the other attendees, to find out if they had any vacancies I could apply for.

I read through the description to see what sort of networking event it was, and it was a professional networking event. There was a video attached to the description, so I watched the video. It showed attendees why they liked Purple Networking and showed what the atmosphere at Purple Networking event was like. When I attended Purple Networking, I informed the attendees of my job search plans and answered questions and expanded the conversation from there. I asked what work the attendees do and where they were located, as I took note on their responses. I always asked to take notes before I took notes. When they asked me what I do for a living, I responded that I am a warehouse worker, currently actively seeking new employment opportunities. I then explained how I went about completing my job search and explained my work experience, knowledge and skills. I pointed them to my blog for more information.

I attended Purple Networking and booked tickets for the next Purple Networking event. In fact, I attended 21 Purple Networking events consecutively. I attained several potential employment leads, which I took note on and proactively investigated

Skills Used

  • Communication Skills
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Being Well Informed
  • Decision Making
  • Initiative
  • Note Taking
  • Relationship Building
  • Research Skills

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment