Posted in Communication skills, Companies, Crawley, Customer Service, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Problem Solving, Replenishment, Result and Target Oriented, Sainsbury's, Seasonal Staff, Skills, Target oriented, Teamwork

Managing and Directing Others: MSS

Not every agency staff would be in the same aisle and one or two of them were not trained in Merchandising.

I needed to explain what needed to be completed and allocate other agency staff to aisles.

We had a team meeting, which the Sainbury’s Store Manager and I co-ordinated, where he explained what tasks needed to be completed in which aisles. I asked if my team was happy with those tasks, and I answered questions that they gave me. One of them mentioned that they had not done merchandising before. I explained that I would show them when we went down to the shop floor. I allocated aisles to each of the agency staff and we went down to the shop floor.

I showed the colleague how to merchandise and asked if she was okay with it and she said she was. I monitored and supported her until she felt comfortable with merchandising. I answered further questions from my team and helped and supported them. We completed all tasks by the end of each shift.

Skills Used

  • Managing and Directing Others
  • Communication Skills
  • Decision Making
  • Initiative
  • Problem Solving
  • Results and Target Orientated
  • Teamwork

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment