Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Decision Making: A-One

This is a re-post of Decision Making: A-One, which was published on Thursday 19 December 2019 at 21:00.

Occasionally, there were times where a damaged parcel or package came down the belt to where I was working.

I needed to decided whether I should repair the damaged parcels or packages, or let a colleague deal with it.

When a damaged parcel or package came down the belt, I moved it to the end of the belt unless it was consumables or glass, which I carefully placed on the floor, out of the way, in case of leakages.When there was a gap between the parcels and packages, like when the trailers were being changed, I would get the tape gun from the Goods on Hold room and went back to where I was stationed at. If there was still a gap, a colleague and I discussed who would deal with the repairing.

The colleague and I took turns in repairing the damaged parcels or packages and it was scanned and carefully placed into the correct bay or cage. I helped the colleague by holding down the lid on the parcels, so the colleague could tape the parcels properly.

Skills Used

  • Decision Making
  • Communication
  • Initiative
  • Problem Solving
  • Teamwork

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment