Posted in Crawley

I Completed a Company Hunt on Wednesday 07 October 2020 and Here’s What Happened

Why did you complete a Company Hunt on Wednesday 07 October 2020?

I completed a Company Hunt on Wednesday 07 October 2020 to enquire about vacancies. As an active job seeker, I have to be proactive in finding suitable employment.

How did you conduct this Company Hunt?

I had found a number of companies with contact details on some paperwork from one of my previous spells of job search. I also had one company saved on my phone that I wanted to contact.

With the coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic still in the swing of things, I decided to call the companies I had information on.

Who did you contact on this Company Hunt?

In total, there were eight companies I called on Wednesday 07 October 2020. So, here are the eight companies I contacted:

  • Heyland & Whittle
  • Signs Express (Crawley)
  • Stainger Glass Ltd
  • Sussex Carpet Centre
  • Tackle Warehouse
  • Tuffwell Glass & Blinds Ltd
  • Vapeshifters
  • Vape Simple / SVC Labs

What was mentioned when you completed this company Hunt?

I will go through each company and explain what was mentioned:

  • Heyland & Whittle – There were no vacancies at that time and they have had to make some of their employees redundant. However, I could send them my newest CV via e-mail.
  • Signs Express (Crawley) – There were no vacancies at that time, but they suggested that I checked out their website, Signet, under the careers section.
  • Stainger Glass Ltd – There were no vacnaies at that time, but they sufggested that to ring them every couple of months.
  • Sussex Carpet Centre – There were no vacancies at that time, but as they are a family run business, they would not need to recruit anybody.
  • Tackle Warehouse – The first telephone number I hadfor the Tackle Warehouse was unreckognised. I managed to get through to them on the second telephone number I had. There were no vacancies at that time, but they suggestedto call them in February or March next year, when the season starts.
  • Tuffwell Glass & Blinds Ltd – There were no vacancies at that time, nor will they have any for the remainder of the year. Also, when I asked them if they knew of anybody else recruiting, they said that they didn’t know of anybody else recruiting.
  • Vapeshifters – When I called Vapeshifters, their phone kept ringing.
  • Vape Simple / SVC Labs – There were no vacancies at that time, but they suggested that I looked on Indeed in a few months time.

Conclusion

It was a shame that none of the companies had any vacancies and that Heyland & Whittle mad redundancies. However, it’s good to know where I can keep an eye out for jobs and when the best time to contact some of the companies.

With Thanks

I would like to thank everybody I spoke to when I completed this Company Hunt on Wednesday 07 October 2020. I appreciate the time that you gave me.

What Next?

I will initially e-mail Heyland & Whittle with my most recent, updated CV. I will then keep an eye out on Indeed and respective company websites that I was suggested to look at .

Key Competencies Used

  • Being Well Informed: I found out where I could apply for jobs for the companies I called.
  • Communication: I spoke tom asked questions and listened to the potential employers.
  • Decision Making: I made the decision to complete this Company Hunt and what companies I should call.
  • Initiative: I took the initiative to complete this Company Hunt.
  • Organisational Skills: I organised the Company Hunt and the order of the companies I called.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment