Posted in Crawley

Initiative: Revive

I was on a 4-week volunteering placement with Revive. On my last day at Revive, a huge collection of postcards were donated and needed to be sorted, priced and merchandised on the shop floor.

I needed to use my initiative for the best way to organise them, ready for sale.

I agreed that I would go through the postcards and organise them, but I explained to the Shop Manager that it would take quite a bit of time, as there were so many. I looked through them to see what postcards there were and there was a wide variety of used and unused postcards with pictures of towns, cities and other locations from around the world and art work, including explicite art work. I then decided to organise them in to two piles. One for used and one for unused. By the time I completed that, I had only one hour to attempt to completely organise them. I spoke to the Shop Manager and explained the situation and let her know that I would be prepared to attend the next day to complete it. She agreed. From there, I split the used postcards into locations and art. For art, I split them up into different types of art, like explicit, craftsmanship, etc.. For locations, I researched where the locations were in the world and organised them into countries. I put them into a little box without a lid and created dividers, which I wrote on by country and the different types of art.

I completely organised the postcards by the day after. I completed my volunteering, where I used my initiative.

Skills Used

  • Initiative
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Communication Skills
  • Decision Making
  • Flexibility
  • Organisational Skills
  • Problem Solving
  • Results and Target Orientated
  • Research
  • Time Management

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment