Posted in Crawley

Decision Making: ALC

I volunteered at ALC for a while and I introduced then a connection who was willing to volunteer for them. The connection mentioned about Key Competencies and asked me if I wanted to improve my chances of finding employment. If I did, he offered to help me with the Key Competencies.

I needed to decide whether or not to accept his offer to help me with Key Competencies.

We went into the office and I got my notepad and pen to hand and asked my connection relevant questions, like what Key Competencies were and how they would help me get into employment. When he answered, I took notes of his answers. I was unsure by the end of the discussion, so I asked him if I could think on it. He agreed.

When we next saw each other the following week, I accepted his offer for help as I realised I had no other avenues or options to go down to make that leap back into employment. Since then, I had published some of the Key Competencies onto my website I set up not long after. I also started publishing them onto my blog since I launched it in mid-2017 and have kept it as up-to-date as possible since. I researched more Key Competencies after that.

Skills Used

  • Decision Making
  • Communication Skills
  • Initiative
  • Implemented Change
  • Organisational Skills
  • Problem Solving
  • Research
  • Results and Target Orientated
  • Time Management
  • Writing

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment