Posted in Crawley

Decision Making: In Public

I was at my local hospital to deal with something and an elderly lady outside the hospital asked me if I could help her feet a taxi to take her home.

I needed to quickly decide whether or not to help the elderly lady.

The elderly lady collared me as I came out of the hospital and asked me if I could order her a taxi for her. I decided and agreed. I went back into the hospital and explained to the receptionist that an elderly lady outside needed a taxi to get home. The receptionist asked me for the name and the destination, so I went back to the elderly lady and asked for her name and her destination, which she told me. I went back into the hospital and informed the receptionist, who kindly booked the taxi. I went back outside, let the elderly last know that the taxi had been booked and I waited for the taxi to arrive.

I quickly decided to help the elderly lady and the taxi arrived. She offered me some money, which I politely declined.

Skills Used

  • Decision Making
  • Being Well Informed
  • Communication Skills
  • Customer Service
  • Flexibility
  • Initiative

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment