Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Communication Skills: Salvation Army

This is a re-post of Communication Skills: Salvation Army, which was published on Tuesday 31 August 2021 at 21:00.


I required written references for a job I applied for and for another reason. As a Volunteer at Salvation Army, who got on really well with the management team, I thought it would be a good idea.

I needed to ask for written references from my Assistant Manager and Cover Managers I had whilst I was at Salvation Army.

I approached my Assistant Manager when I knew he had a moment to chat. I knew he the longest and he was the one who knew me best and how well it worked. I explained that I required written references for a job that I applied for. He said he would get back to me because he needed time to think about what to say. When the Cover Managers arrived to cover, and when I had met them a few times, I asked them if they would be able to write a written references for me, as I required it for a job application I made.

Both of the Cover Managers agreed to give me written references straight away and my normal Assistant Manager handed me his written reference for me. Even though I missed out on the job (just), I received 3 written reference letters, which I appreciated. From there, I was able to see what I was good at.

Skills Used

  • Communication Skills
  • Decision Making
  • Flexibility
  • Initiative
  • Managing and Directing Others
  • Results & Target Orientated

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment