Posted in Crawley

Communication Skills: Fawkes & Reece

I was working on a commercial site in Crawley Town Centre for Fawkes & Reece through Hays and had to use Hays’ payroll system to get paid for the job. I was due to be paid on the second Friday for the work from the first week, but it wasn’t in my account first thing in the morning, like it normally I’d with Fawkes & Reece. I went to my Manager on site and wanted to tell him what happened.

I needed to communicate with my Manager with what happened and how to go about it.

I got to work and got myself ready for work, then knocked on the office door and waited for the door to open. When the door opened, I signed in, then let my Manager know that I wasn’t paid, asking how I should go about getting my wages paid. He suggested I contacted my Recruitment Agency, Fawkes & Reece. I made the call whilst I was still in front of my Manager. It expired that Fawkes & Reece managed to get me on this site through Hays, who were the ones to pay me. Fawkes & Reece looked up what went wrong and found that the Site Manager did not sign off the time sheet. I went to the Site Manager and managed to get him to sign off the time sheet for me.

I was paid by 1pm the same day at the correct pay.

Skills Used

  • Communication Skills
  • Being Well Informed
  • Initiative
  • Problem Solving

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment