Posted in Crawley

Organisational Skills: Fawkes & Reece

There was a lot of excess plasterboard that was due to go for the large skips. We had little skips to place the excess plasterboard into initially, so the Forklift Drivers could transport to the large skips.

I needed to organise the excess plasterboard into the little skips to be able to fill them up further.

From the top floor of blocks of flats and houses, I initially took down the bigger pieces of plasterboard and stood them up next to a brick wall. When I had enough excess plasterboard against the wall, I placed 3 large pieces of plasterboard into the skip. One across the back, and two on each side of the skip. From there, I start laying the remainder of larger pieces of plasterboard across the bottom of the skip, breaking the larger pieces down to smaller sizes, if necessary. I left several leather pieces of plasterboards against the brick wall for further small skips that I required. I then took town the slightly smaller pieces of plasterboard and placed them into the skip. I continued this process until all the plasterboard was cleared out from the houses and blocks of flats.

I organised the small skips quickly and got as much excess plasterboard into the skips I could, meaning fewer journeys for the Forklift Drivers to the large skip. Houses generally had 3 full small skips and blocks of flats generally had 7 or 8 small skips filled up.

Skills Used

  • Organisational Skills
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Decision Making
  • Initiative
  • Problem Solving
  • Results & Target Orientated

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment