Posted in Crawley

[RE-POST] Problem Solving: Salvation Army

This is a re-post of Problem Solving: Salvation Army, which was published on Tuesday 03 March 2020 at 15:00.


The bric-a-brac shelves at Salvation Army were five across and five high and they were a complete mess.

I needed to solve this messy problem and re-merchandise it to make it look a lot tidier.

I explained to my Manager that the bric-a-brac was a mess on the shelves and I asked if I could make it look better. He immediately agrees. Initially, I organised the donations already on the bric-a-brac shelves with the cups on one shelf, glasses on another shelf, and china sets on another two shelves, and I saw how much space there was left. From there, I worked out roughly what other bric-a-brac I could put onto the shelves. So I went into the stock room and carefully rummaged around to see what other bric-a-brac we had that were donated, and I found plenty. I priced nearly all of the bric-a-brac and carefully took them to the bric-a-brac shelves on the shop floor, starting with the china sets, which were the most expensive bric-a-brac and I merchandised them. This was followed by toys and games on the bottom five shelves before the cups and glasses. I also helped customers in the process with their questions and queries.

It too me three hours to merchandise 25 bric-a-brac shelves, and over 75% of the donated bric-a-brac were sold over a two-day period.

Skills Used

  • Problem Solving
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Communication Skills
  • Customer Service
  • Decision Making
  • Initiative
  • Organisational Skills
  • Results and Target Orientated

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment