Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Initiative, Job Roles, Organisational, Parcels, Problem Solving, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Teamwork, Warehouse Worker

[RE-POST] Streetwise: Friday 23 November 2018

This is a re-post of Streetwise: Friday 23 November 2018, which was published on Monday 31 December 2018 at 15:00.


I was the first employee to arrive at work. Out of sight of another colleague, I surprised him when he arrived for work.

I walked in at 04:00 then organised the printed, laminated postcodes for the shift and stuck them onto the correct empty cages.

The cages and wooden pallets that had parcels and packages on needed to be emptied onto the non-functional conveyor belt, which I duly did.

When the first trailer arrived and the parcels and packages were scanned on the non-functional conveyor belt, I looked for the parcels and packages, where I read the postcode of the parcels and packages, then sorted them into the correct cages.

The first trailer was completed at approximately 05:25 and went out to have two smokes, including one whilst unclipping one side of the second trailer when it had arrived.

For the second trailer’s parcels and packages, I read the postcode of the parcels and packages, then sorted them into the correct cages.

Afterwards I completed general housekeeping, including collecting the printed, laminated postcodes and sweeping within the warehouse.

I finished my shift at 08:06 and I went home.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment