Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Customer Service, Flexibility, Initiative, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Networking, Organisational, Replenishment, Result and Target Oriented, Target oriented, Volunteer

Initiative: Charity Fundraising

I was planning a Tombola for Save the Children, but had no prizes.

I needed to gather prizes for the Tombola in my own time, around my education.

I asked Save the Children’s Manager in my lunch break on how to go about getting the prizes I required for the Tombola. Save the Children’s shop Manager handwrote several letters, confirming that I was collecting donations as prizes for a Tombola. When she had completed those handwritten letters, I started visiting companies who I thought would donate products for me to gather prizes before going back to college for my education.

It took a few attempts to get enough prizes for the Tombola, but I managed to collect several donations for prizes for the Tombola, including £50 worth of Lush soaps.

Skills Used

  • Initiative
  • Communication Skills (verbal and listening)
  • Flexibility
  • Organisational Skills
  • Results and Target Orientated

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment