Posted in Communication skills, Company Hunt, Crawley, Customer Service, CV Drops, Initiative, Job Searching, Manor Royal, Note taking, Organisational, Skills, Vacancies

I Completed a Company Hunt and Here’s What Happened 17/06/19

Introduction

On Monday 17 June 2019, I decided to give several companies in Manor Royal a call to find out if any of them had any vacancies I could apply for, how to apply and who to contact.

Why did you do a Company Hunt over the telephone on a Tuesday?

I haven’t completed a Company Hunt recently and thought it best to do another one to gather information based on job search.

I decided to call them because it’s another route I could go down to find suitable employment.

Who did you talk to?

On Monday, I typed up the company information I gathered for 27 companies in Manor Royal, then yesterday (Tuesday) I called 15 of those companies.

The companies who require a CV are:

  • Gatwick Kia
  • Hendy Ford
  • HSS Hire
  • Treetop Design & Print Ltd

The companies who want me to search and apply online are:

  • Harwoods Jaguar Land Rover Crawley (Harwoods website)
  • Johnstone’s Decorating Centre
  • Lok’nStore Storage Crawley (Indeed)
  • Motorline Nissan Crawley (Motorline website)
  • Motorline Toyota Gatwick (Motorline website)
  • Topps Tiles Gatwick (website and Indeed)
  • Williams Trade Supplies Ltd

The other companies include:

  • Rentokil Initial
  • TLC Electrical Distributers (call HR)
  • TNT Crawley Depot
  • WH Commercials

What was the outcome?

Four of the companies required a CV and seven companies required applications online.

The other companies either weren’t sure of any vacancies, had no vacancies or had no option to discuss employment opportunities.

What will happen now?

Now, I will send CV’s to those companies who require me to send them my CV. I will also keep an eye on both Indeed and respective company websites for suitable positions.

Conclusion

Even though I hate talking over the telephone, I thought it best that I tried something different for a change.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment