Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Flexibility, Initiative, Job Roles, Loader, Manor Royal, Organisational, Personal Shopper, Picker / Pacmer, Replenishment, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Target oriented, Teamwork, Tesco

Career Part 1

What was the best decision you ever made in your career?

The best decision I made in my career was getting as much overtime as possible at Tesco in different departments.

What did you learn from it?

I completed over 50 hours of overtime and during the overtime, I worked in Replenishment, as a Loader, as well as doing extra as a Personal Shopper.

I learnt new skills, like how to replenish shelves correctly and how to be quicker at my job, without compromising the quality of my work.

What was the worst decision you ever made in your career?

I feel that the worst decision I made in my career was to isolate myself after I was made redundant from Streetwise at the end of February 2019.

What did you learn from it?

I was kicking myself, blaming myself because I didn’t know what I did at Streetwise to make me redundant.

I learnt not to kick or blame myself for something that was beyond my control. I also learnt to just get on with my job search constructively and methodically.

What was your favourite company, employer, or organisation?

I never put any employers into any form of order of favourites, as different employers and companies have different pros and cons.

Comparing Tesco (afternoon shift), Staffline for Hermes (night shift) and Streetwise (morning shift), I preferred the morning shift at Streetwise.

As I have mentioned earlier in this blog post, I completed more than 50 hours of overtime at Tesco, gaining more skills and experience.

What did you like about it?

For the early shifts at Streetwise, I found I was more productive first thing in the morning. After the shifts, I would have the rest of the day to myself to cook, to complete housework and do blogging.

As for completing more than 50 hours overtime for Tesco, I gained the skills and experience I needed, as well as get great satisfaction for doing an amazing job.

Who was your favourite Manager?

Even for employees, Supervisors and Managers, I don’t use favouritism.

I won’t mention who or what company they worked for, but the story comes in my next answer.

What did you like most about them?

They encouraged me when I was having a bad day (I rarely had a bad day, but we all do sometimes), or when it was very busy.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

One thought on “Career Part 1

Leave a comment