Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, CV Writing, Initiative, Interviews, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Note taking, Organisational, Skills

Implemented Change: Unemployment

Each vacancy has different requirements.

I needed to adapt my CV for every application that I would like to make to fit the requirements, and save the adapted CV.

To be able to do this, I needed to find carious vacancies I am capable of doing, then I found out the requirements of each of the vacancies, where I used a table for each with different headings (Essential Skills / Experience, Desired Skills / Experience and Hidden Requirements). Now that I knew what they are looking for, I adapted my my CV with the skills, experience and knowledge I have that the company is looking for, and save it.. Then I applied for the vacancy with my updated CV, accompanied with a cover letter and took note of the closing date, along with the vacancy and company details. The day after the closing date, I gave the company a telephone call, where I explained who I was, that I applied for the vacancy they had, and that I was following up on the application. If they declined my application, I politely ask why my application was declined and ask for feedback for my job application, whilst I took notes on their responses and feedback. When the conversation came to a close, I thanked them for their time, that I appreciated them taking a little time out of their day to talk to me, and wished them a good day.

I successfully applied for a suitable vacancy and either get a job interview or get declined, with feedback.

Skills Used

  • Adapted CV
  • Research
  • Communication Skills
  • Note Taking
  • Organisational Skills
  • Initiative
  • Telephone Skills

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

7 thoughts on “Implemented Change: Unemployment

Leave a comment