Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Customer Service, Customer Service, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Note taking, Organisational, Oxfam, Replenishment, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Target oriented, Teamwork, Volunteer

Results and Target Orientated: Oxfam

Around Christmas, Oxfam was extremely busy, and with only two of us volunteering, it was even busier. The shelves were running out of donated products. The other volunteer was not a fan of using the till.

Whilst I was on the till, I needed to price and merchandise donated products onto the shop floor quickly, without compromising the excellent Customer Service.

Before opening the shop, I walked around with a pen and a piece of scrap paper and took note on what donated products I needed to sort, price and merchandise. The most required donated products that were required on the shop floor were ladies clothes and bric-a-brac. I picked up a large pile of ladies clothes initially and started doing quality checks before I priced them. When it hit 9am, I opened the door to let customers in and served them around the sorting of the ladies clothes. Once I had checked the quality of the ladies clothes and pricing them, I asked the other volunteer to steam iron them. when I had the chance, I took several of them from the clothes rail in the stockroom and merchandised them onto the correct rails, in size order. Afterward, I gathered lots of bric-a-brac, which I priced and merchandised attractively.

I managed to get donated products merchandised, which were sold very quickly.

Skills Used

  • Results and Target Orientated
  • Analytical Thinking
  • Communication Skills
  • Customer Service
  • Decision Making
  • Initiative
  • Note Taking
  • Organisational Skills
  • Problem Solving
  • Teamwork

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment