Posted in Company Hunt, Crawley, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, LinkedIn, Manor Royal, Networking, Recruitment Agencies, Social Media, Vacancies

Reflections of 2022 (Part 1)

What are you most proud of?

I am most proud of myself when I completed as much agency work within the construction industry as possible, especially at the early stages of the year.

I have met and worked with many different people on different sites and the horse were typically 07:30 to 16:30, plus the occasional overtime.

You can find out what I did on different sites at different Recruitment Agencies by checking My Previous History.

What skills did you acquire?

The biggest skill I acquired in 2022 was when I operated a lift, covering all 9 floors of the new Town Hall.

What do you wish you did differently?

I feel that I should have put my foot down more when it came to my job search. I found that as slacking quite a bit especially near the end of the year.

I will be planning more of my job search on a weekly basis. Normally I go through my e-mails and Job Boards every day. However, the latter part 2022, I wasn’t doing I do these as much as I should have done. So for the time being I will be checking my e-mails and Job Boards every other day to get these tasks completed quicker.

I will also be setting dates during this first week of January for Company Hunts to cover the year in Crawley and Manor Royal. There will be 2 or 3 Company Hunts in each area for the year.

I will also be putting my foot down with my Key Competencies, as I really need to catch up with them.

What went better / harder than you expected?

The hardest part for me during 2022 was when the construction work went flat for about the last 3 month, where I had very little or no work.

On the flip side, when I was working on the Evri (formally Hermes) site, one of the Site Managers, Lee, asked me if I could be the Key Holder for the site until a Security Guard arrived. I agreed. Though, I was left on my own and everyone else went home, I did not mind as I learnt a bit more money.

Where, or what, do you feel most at peace?

I feel at peace around family and my fiancée, as my family are supportive of my fiancée. My fiancée is also very supportive of me too.

Blog Links

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment