Posted in Crawley

The Workplace

After I finished with college, I went into various industries, starting with Customer Service and Retail.

I will now go through each of my positions, along with links to other blog posts related to these positions.

Oxfam

I first started volunteering at Oxfam in Crawley from June 2009 until February 2010, as I needed to gain as much experience as possible, to be able to get into paid employment.

  • Pros: Gained new experiences, was joint supervisor for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year.
  • Cons: Unpaid, occasional grumpy customer.

Here are some links related to my time at Oxfam:

Alternative Learning Community (ALC)

I volunteered at Alternative Learning Community between June 2011 and September 2012, on a part time basis whilst I volunteered elsewhere. Information for this next.

  • Pros: Gained new experiences, helped with my own job search.
  • Cons: Unpaid, occasional grumpy clients.

Here are some links related to my time at ALC:

RBLI

I volunteered at RBLI between December 2011 and February 2012 on a part time basis, whilst I volunteered at ALC.

I decided to volunteer at RBLI to gain new experience from the Recruitment industry.

  • Pros: Continued gained new experiences, helped with my own job search.
  • Cons: Unpaid, helping others who refused the help, occasional really grumpy clients.

Here are some links related to my time at RBLI:

Various Recruitment Agencies

  • HR GO Recruitment, Recruitment Work Experience Placement.
  • Co-Op, Customer Service and Retail Work Experience Placement.
  • Premier Inn, Hospitality Work Experience Placement.
  • Revive, Volunteer, Customer Service and Retail Work Experience Placement.

These positions all were enforced by Crawley Job Centre Plus to help me get back into employment.

I gained new experience in Hospitality, also gained more experience in Customer Service, Recruitment and Retail.

  • Pros: Gained some experience in different industries.
  • Cons: Unpaid

Here are some links related to my time at the above Work Experience Placements:

Tesco

Family member recommended me to apply for a Personal Shopper position at Tesco. So, I applied and got the job. It was only part time, which was good enough for me at the time.

I worked at Tesco between April 2015 and September 2016.

  • Pros: Part time
  • Cons: Massive pick rate, bad management,

Here are some links related to my time at Tesco:

Salvation Army

I volunteered for Salvation Army between January 2017 and April 2017.

  • Pros:
  • Cons: Unpaid

MSS

I worked as a Merchandiser Team Leader at MSS for 1 week in December 2017.

  • Pros:
  • Cons: Only lasted 1 week.

Here are some other blogs related to my time at MSS:

Staffline Recruitment Limited

I worked as a Night Loader at Staffline Recruitment Limited between June 2018 and October 2018.

  • Pros:
  • Cons: Night shifts.

Here are some other blogs related to my time at Staffline Recruitment Limited:

Streetwise Couriers Sussex

I worked as a Parcel Sorted / Warehouse Operative at Streetwise Couriers Sussex between October 2018 and February 2019.

  • Pros: Generally great employees to work with.
  • Cons: Early shifts, part time.

Here are some blog posts related to my time at Streetwise Couriers Sussex:

A-One Recruitment

I worked as a Temporary Warehouse Operative at A-One Recruitment between September 2019 and September 2020.

  • Pros: Weight loss and muscle gain, amazing satisfaction
  • Cons: Technology went down occasionally, occasional waiting time, morning graveyard shifts.

Here are some blog posts related to my time at A-One Recruitment:

Various Recruitment Agencies

  • Thakeham Homes
  • Persimmon Homes
  • Taylor Wimpey
  • Sunninghill Construction
  • Randstad
  • Sequoia

I worked as a General Labour at various Recruitment Agencies between April 2021 and January 2022.

  • Pros: Various locations, various experiences on various sites.
  • Cons:

Here are some blog posts related to my time at the various Recruitment Agencies:

Various Recruitment Agencies

  • Fawkes & Reece
  • FCR

I worked as a General Labour at various Recruitment Agencies between May 2022 and September 2022.

Pros:

Cons:

Here are some blog posts related to my time at the various Recruitment Agencies:

Paramount Trades & Labour

I worked as a General Labourer at Paramount Trades & Labour between April 2023 and May 2023.

Pros:

Cons:

Here are some links related to my time at Paramount Trades & Labour:

Warehouse Life, Staffline

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment