Posted in Administration, Communication skills, Crawley, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Loader, Manor Royal, Networking, Organisational, Picker / Pacmer, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Target oriented, Teamwork, Warehouse Worker

Streetwise: Saturday 24 November 2018

I was the first colleague to arrive at work and I walked in at 04:00, straight for the printed, laminated postcodes, where I organised the ones I required for my shift and stuck them onto the correct cages.

When the first trailer arrived, I unloaded the first half of it onto the non-functional conveyor belt until I was asked to go onto the non-functional conveyor belt to sort the parcels and packages. I looked for the parcels and packages, where I read the postcode of the parcels and packages, then sorted them into the correct cages.

I then went out to have two smokes, including one whilst unclipping one side of the second trailer when it had arrived.

I continued to deal with the sorting for the second trailer’s parcels and packages, I read the postcode of the parcels and packages, then sorted them into the correct cages.

Mis-sorts were noted, so I sorted out those cages.

At 07:33, a Romanian colleague verbally threatened to punch me, so I verbally reported the guy and situation to the Warehouse Supervisor, who suggested that I write to him and the Warehouse Manager as a complaint.

I found out that I had caged a wrong depot parcel or package, which I dealt with appropriately.

I finished work just on 08:00 and went home. However, when a colleague and I walked around the corner, the Romanian colleague who threatened to punch me came cycling quickly with another Romanian colleague. The other Romanian colleague decided to shove me whilst he was on his bike. I nearly fell over into a bike that was being walked by the colleague I was walking with. Thankfully, I only nudged it and sounds like he wouldn’t have blamed me if his bike did break.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment