Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Customer Service, Flexibility, Initiative, Organisational, Problem Solving

Flexibility: Oxfam

At Oxfam, Christmas was an extremely busy time and both  employees and volunteers wanted to take the Christmas and New Year weeks off.

Eventhough I was an active job seeker, I needed to be available and complete more hours as a volunteer, and to gain as much experience as possible as this was my first position outside of education.

I decided to volunteer for six days per week from opening the shop to closing the shop, covering both Christmas and New Year weeks. I answered customer’s questions and queries, as well as serving customers, providing excellent Customer Service. I also organised and priced donations that were donated  by customers, and some Management duties. These Management duties included setting up at the beginning of the day and cashing up at the end of every shift.

I managed to successfully completed more duties / tasks and completed more hours in the process.

Skills Used

  • Flexibility
  • Problem Solving
  • Communication (verbal and listening)
  • Customer Service
  • Initiative
  • Organisational Skills

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment