Posted in Administration, Communication skills, Crawley, Customer Service, Customer Service, Flexibility, Initiative, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Networking, Organisational, Skills, Social Media

Flexibility: Hobbies

Stamp collectors are all over the world and in different time zones.

I needed to message other stamp collectors as quickly as possible, understanding that they may not message back immediately.

Twice per week, I woke up at 06:00 to start going through the messages I received and prioritised them. I read the messages and organised them into a list of importance and went through them one by one, starting with them most important. I answered questions and queries that other stamp collectors had, organised stamp exchanges and gave feedback to those who successfully completed stamp exchanges with me.

Other stamp collectors were happy with the way I prioritised and understood that I was not online all of the time. They were happy with the time scale of my answers to their questions and queries and how quickly I dealt with stamp exchanges. I also received excellent reviews from other stamp collectors from completed and successful exchanges.

Skills Used

  • Flexibility
  • Initiative
  • Communication Skills (reading and replying)
  • Prioritising Skills
  • Organisational Skills

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment