Posted in Crawley

[DISCUSSION] Pay on Job Descriptions

I saw a post on LinkedIn yesterday about putting pay onto job descriptions, or not. And I thought I’d share my thoughts on this.


I have to completely agree with this post, as I do have salary expectations, with hourly rates, as I have mentioned in my post called Important Information for Employment.

When companies do not put the pay in the job description, it makes it look like they either pay nothing, or they are embarrassed to say how low they are paying for the job.

At least, if employers put a range, then it will be negotiation time soon enough, where salary can be dealt promptly, according to the applicant’s experience.

I do understand that when there is a salary or hourly rate ranges, that the candidate aims for a higher rate. However, if I apply for a job where there is no hourly rate, I feel that employers will pay candidates less than they should. How wo

One LinkedIn member mentions:

But that doesn’t mean, you can just put a number to attract people, then change it to a lower number using some excuse.

I understand what this LinkedIn member says, but I feel that if an employer did this, then it would be misadvertising. In this case, I would refuse to work for them.

I have had a similar experience with a Recruitment Agency who advertised that they would help with getting a CSCS card for construction, but did not explain in the job description that the applicant would have to pay for the course out of their wages. I now refuse to work with this Recruitment Agency.

Another LinkedIn member said:

There is absolutely not reason why the salary should be withheld in a job advert. At a minimum a salary range should be present. In the past I have been for a role where they eventually when they told me the salary when they mad the offer (and yes, I did enquire at interview but was told it would be disclosed with the offer) , and they were generally all low ball offers which I immediately turned down.

It’s simple, stop wasting everyone’s time, money and patience and simple add it to the job spec.

I have mentioned what I mentioned earlier, but I do have to agree with this LinkedIn member that it is a waste of time, money and patience. Moreso a waste of time, patience and energy of the candidate, who will not be paid for their time.

In Lithuania it has been mandatory to publish salary range in the job ads for quite some time now 🙂 In the beginning some of the employers were dissatisfied but it has been one of the best things that happened to employees IMO. Adds to transparency, helps fight all sorts of pay gaps (let it be gender, personality, whatever) and overall increases competition as it becomes much more difficult to lowball candidates and existing employees.

Let’s follow Lithuania and publish salary ranges to prevent pay gaps.

Conclusion

Would I really want to work for nothing or very little? Absolutely not! I have bills to pay, a wedding to pay for and, unfortunately, money owing to family.

Let’s follow Lithuania’s lead in sorting out the pay gap and wasting people’s time and energy!

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment