Posted in Communication skills, Company Hunt, Crawley, Customer Service, Flexibility, Initiative, Job Searching, Key Competencies, LinkedIn, Networking, Note taking, Organisational, Problem Solving, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Social Media, Vacancies

Company Hunt: May 2021 (Conclusion)

This series of Company Hunts was not only draining for me, but also caused frustration, especially nearer the final couple of days. I feel that this series of Company Hunts was average, as I have had some really good days and some really bad days. So, come up without further adieu, let’s take a look back at what information I received over the last week and a half:

  • 14 names of people confirmed that I can (and will) contact.
  • 6 names I had from previous Company Hunts no longer work at the companies.
  • 13 companies gave me the full names of the relevant people.
  • 5 companies slgave me the first name of the relevant people.
  • Two companies in full moon that they have a “No Name Policy”
  • 1 company was unsure the relevant person.

Here’s what else happened:

  • 6 companies no vacancies available come on one of which told me to keep an eye on their website for jobs.
  • 1 other company told me to go online.
  • 1 company wanted me to take my CV in personally.
  • 1 generic e-mail address.
  • 2 companies came back as unknown.
  • 13 telephone numbers kept ringing.
  • 10 telephone numbers were unrecognised.

What Next?

I have a lot to do now, including:

  • To gather correct addresses for the 14 names that were confirmed and for the 13 companies who gave me the full names of the relevant people.
  • To use LinkedIn to research employees for the 2 companies who had a “No Name Policy” and call them back to confirm the relevant names.
  • To research alternative telephone numbers for the 10 telephone numbers that were unrecognised and give them a call.
  • To call the 13 telephone numbers that kept ringing.

Key Competencies

  • Being Well Informed: I was informed of the occasional vacancies, as well as several names I am able to contact.
  • Communication Skills: I asked relevant questions to help me find the information I needed, where I listened and took notes. I thanked everybody at the end of every conversation for their time.
  • Customer Service: I was polite and professional when making these telephone calls.
  • Decision Making: I decided to complete this company Hunt and the order I made the calls.
  • Initiative: I planned and executed this Company Hunt on my own, without anybody asking me to to or watching over me.
  • Organisational Skills: After I decided to complete this Company Hunt, I organised the companies I wanted to call into a suitable order. By the end of this Company Hunt, I also organised who I need to contact, and how.
  • Research: I was able to find out and gather several names of relevant people to send my CV to or send a letter to in regards to leads.
  • Results & Target Orientated: Even though I didn’t get a job out of this series of Company Hunt, I did receive enough information (names, etc.) for me to deal with.
  • Stress Management: I hate making and receiving calls as it does stress me out, as well as mentally drain me enough that I want to fall asleep. To manage this, I take a 5 minute break after every sixth call or so.
  • Time Management: I set the goal to complete this Company Hunt before calling the companies and concluded each part of the series at the end of each blog post. I then completed a bigger conclusion at the very end.
  • Writing: I took note of the responses from companies and handwrote blog posts about this series of Company Hunts.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment