Posted in Communication skills, Crawley, Customer Service, CV Drops, CV Writing, Initiative, Interviews, Job Roles, Job Searching, Key Competencies, LinkedIn, Loader, Networking, Note taking, Organisational, Picker / Pacmer, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Target oriented, Vacancies, Warehouse Worker

Results: Unemployment

Being unemployed is horrible and I was running out of ideas on how to actively look for suitable employment but found out applying to relevant companies speculatively. I urgently required a job.

To do this, I needed to enquire about vacancies speculatively as quickly as possible, without reducing the quality of communication and Health and Safety.

I thought of, and wrote down a list of strong, relevant questions I needed to ask, then I set a date and chose several roads in close proximity within the Manor Royal area. My research skills kicked in, so I researched the companies on those chosen roads. From that research, I altered my CV to tailor it for each company and I printed them of. On that date I set, I got myself ready and set off early, where I started one side of the main road and finished on the other side. I visited every company, asking the strong, relevant questions and kept eye contact whilst taking notes. For those companies who required a CV, I passed them the correct tailored CV and a business card to those who did not.

From this, not only did I completed a speculative approach, I received calls from three of the companies for three different job interviews.

Skills used

  • Results
  • Research
  • Communication
  • Health and Safety
  • Planning
  • Initiative
  • Microsoft Word
  • Editing
  • Customer Service
  • Organisational
  • Listening
  • Eye contact

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment