Posted in Crawley, Warehousing

My Time as an Active Job Seeker

Job Search in General

I redesigned, restructured and revamped my CV, so I could better complete my job search.

I performed my job searches on CV-Library, Indeed and other Job Boards. I then continually monitored and observed Job Boards, e-mails and company websites for suitable vacancies, where I targeted the vacancies I was capable of doing. From there, I extracted and gathered important information from the job descriptions and I researched the companies for more information. I broadened  and expanded my job search.

I organised my workload, which I successfully structured, managed, balanced and prioritised.

Careers and Job Fairs

I participated in Careers and Job Fairs, where I promoted myself and described / explained my situation.

I identified important connections and contacts, where I established and formed positive relationships with others of all levels. From there, I developed and strengthened those relationships.

I asked / requested more information, where I extracted, retrieved and gathered the relevant information and I answered / responded to their questions, queries and requests.

I increased my leads by asking new and current connections and contacts who attended questions, where I uncovered, discovered, obtained, received, retrieved and generated leads and opportunities, which I investigated and pursued at the end of every Careers and Job Fair.

After each Careers and Job Fair, I distributed my CV to prospective employers and consulted / engaged further with new and current connections and contacts via e-mail and telephone before I concluded each Careers and Job Fair on my blog.

I designed and updated documents on Microsoft Excel and Word with who I contacted and further leads.

I demonstrated excellent communication skills and initiative, amoungst other Key Competencies.

Applications

I used online and offline methods to find suitable employment. Online, I performed job searches on CV-Library, Indeed and other Job Boards, as well as on company websites.

When I found jobs I could apply for, I analysed, assessed, examined and reviewed the job description, where I extracted important information.

When I needed to, I requested more information, which I successfully gathered / retrieved. I continually consulted with connections and contacts to gather even more information.

I submitted applications and accompanied it along with my tailored CV, where possible. I always altered, amended and edited my CV for each application I made for more of a perfect fit. I constructed cover letters from scratch for all job applications, where I possibly could. When requested to do so, I presented / attached my CV’s, along with a cover letter via e-mail or in person. I added extra, relevant information to applications I made.

I designed and edited lists of applications I made.

I handled telephone and e-mail communications, and demonstrated excellent communication skills, as well as other Key Competencies.

Company Hunts and CV Drops

I planned, organised ad co-ordinated Company Hunts in an orderly fashion to enquire about vacancies, how to apply and who to apply to, as well as CV Drops.

I traveled to complete Company Hunts, where I visited companies, generally in person, on foot. When I visited each company, I greeted them before I described and explained my situation and promoted myself. I composed a list of companies I visited on my way around, where I extracted and gathered important information.

I increased leads by asking relevant questions, where I discovered, obtained and received leads, which I investigated and pursued.

Within 24 hours of completing each Company Hunt, I responded to requests. I condensed my CV to one page before I circulated, distributed and presented my one page CV, either in person or via e-mail. I then designed and edited lists of companies in a Microsoft Excel document with who I contacted and other relevant information.

I requested more information via e-mail, which I successfully received, I generated and uncovered even more leads, which I followed up on and I was able to send out more CV’s speculatively to prospective employers.

I invited new and existing connections to formal meetings, of which several agreed to, so I arranged and scheduled formal meetings, as well as job interviews, where I answered questions.

From there, I continually handled telephone and e-mail communications, where I consulted and engaged with both existing and new connections.

I formed and established positive relationships with new connections before I further developed and strengthened those relationships.

Knowing People

When I have been out and about, I identified important contacts, where I established and formed positive relationships. I continually built rapport and developed positive relationships with them.

I greeted my connections, and described / explained my situation, where I was able to promote myself. I then engaged further with my connections and answered questions, so they knew what sort of work I was capable of doing.

I invited connections to informal meetings which I scheduled and arranged meetings in my annual diary. Some of my connections were not interested in meeting up, but I Persuaded connections to informally meet up to discuss employment opportunities. I increased lead by asking connections questions and I obtained, received and uncovered leads, which I pursued. I also discovered opportunities. I extracted information that I retrieved.

I strengthened positive relationships with connections by helping them in whatever way I could and I responded to requests for help and assistance.

I gathered information and generated leads, which I followed up on. I also distributed my CV whenever there was an opportunity.

Demonstrated excellent communication skills, as well as other Key Competencies

Not Just Myself

I formed, established and strengthened positive relationships with other job seekers.

I Greeted, communicated and engaged with other job seekers. I scheduled informal meetings with them, where I assisted and supported them in their job search. For example, I Informed other job seekers of vacancies more suitable to them and passed on, provided and supplied more information to them.

Demonstrated excellent communication skills, as well as other Key Competencies.

Improving Myself

I researched and undertook relevant courses.

Blogging

I identified important connections to discuss blogging, like what to publish, how to plan, etc..

I summarised what job search tasks I completed and took note of it with pen and paper.

On my blog, I processed and authored / published posts based on my job search, where I documented, recorded and reported information about the job search that I completed, including me sharing / showing my experiences on my blog.

Related blog posts

Key Competencies

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment