Posted in Communication skills, Companies, Company Hunt, Crawley, Customer Service, Initiative, Job Searching, Key Competencies, Manor Royal, Networking, Note taking, Organisational, Problem Solving, Result and Target Oriented, Skills, Vacancies

Company Hunt: March 2021 (Conclusion)

It was once again pretty training comma mentally for me when I call all of the 50 companies over the last week. I feel that it was not as successful as february’s company hand. So let’s take a look back at for information I received over the last week:

  • 3 names of people I can (and will) contact.
  • 1 e-mail address (and 2 more I had previously), of which the one I received this week was generic (sales HR, etc.).
  • 2 Human Resources telephone numbers (mobile).
  • 8 companies would advertised on their respective websites.

Here’s what else happened:

  • 7 unrecognised telephone numbers.
  • 6 telephone numbers kept ringing.
  • 2 had funny noises instead of a ringtone.
  • 1 recorded message.

What Next?

  • Call both of the Human Resources telephone numbers (mobile) on Wednesday 10 March 2021.
  • E-mail my CV to the email address and the two I had previously when my local library re-opens.
  • Research alternative telephone numbers for those telephone numbers that were unrecognised, kept ringing, and made funny noises when my local library reopens.

Key Competencies

  • Being Well Informed: I was informed how I should apply for vacancies, who to contact, and how I should contact them.
  • Communication Skills: I asked relevant questions to help me find the information I needed, where I listened and took notes. I thanked everybody at the end of every conversation for their time.
  • Customer Service: I was polite and professional when making these telephone calls.
  • Decision Making: I decided to complete this company Hunt and the order I made the calls.
  • Initiative: I planned and executed this Company Hunt on my own, without anybody asking me to to or watching over me.
  • Organisational Skills: After I decided to complete this Company Hunt, I organised the companies I wanted to call into a suitable order. By the end of this Company Hunt, I also organised who I need to contact, and how.
  • Research: I was able to find out what companies have vacancies (or not), who to contact and how to contact them.
  • Results & Target Orientated: Even though I didn’t get a job out of this Company Hunt, I did get several telephone numbers for Head Offices and Human Resources as well as names and e-mail addresses.
  • Stress Management: I hate making and receiving calls as it does stress me out, as well as mentally drain me enough that I want to fall asleep. To manage this, I take a 5 minute break after every fourth call or so.
  • Time Management: I set the goal to complete this Company Hunt before calling the companies and concluded each part of the series at the end of each blog post. I then completed a bigger conclusion at the very end.

Author:

General Labourer and a left-handed Philatelist.

Leave a comment